follow us

Bassett, Franklin, Rosenberg inducted into American Furniture Hall of Fame

 Image of Eugene RosenbergEugene Rosenberg Image of Hassell FranklinHassell Franklin

HIGH POINT — Industry leaders John Bassett III, Hassel Franklin and Eugene Rosenberg were named the newest members of the American Furniture Hall of Fame at a market banquet last night.

The sold-out event, which marked the Hall of Fame's 25th anniversary, was hosted by Adriana Hoyos, international designer of interiors and furniture.

"The diversity of the slate this year was representative of the breadth of our industry and the richness of our leadership. Every person on the slate is to be greatly honored and appreciated," said George

 Image of John BassettJohn Bassett

Cartledge III, president of the American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation. "We applaud the foundation's Industry Fellow Selection Committee worked diligently to find the very best candidates that each represents enduring excellence, superior accomplishments, innovation and creativity, and philanthropic generosity in their time, talents and resources."

In addition to the inductees, the Hall of Fame also honored nominees Aminy I. Audi, chairman and CEO of manufacturer L. & J.G. Stickley; designer Milo Ray Baughman Jr., a pioneer of the mid-century modern style; and A. Leon Capel, an innovator in the rug industry who led Capel Inc. until his retirement in 2005.

Bassett, Franklin and Rosenberg join 91 previously elected members of the Hall of Fame.

Bassett, chairman of manufacturer Vaughan-Bassett Furniture, is a champion of American-made furniture, serving as chairman of the Committee for Legal Trade and advocating for a critical Environmental Protection Agency rule change to benefit both the furniture industry and the environment. He has led the company from sales of $38 million when he joined the company in 1983 to more than $90 million today. In 2012, he oversaw an $8 million expansion and reopening of a factory. A recipient of the American Home Furnishings Alliance Distinguished Service Award and the International Home Furnishings Representatives Assn. Pillar of the Industry Award, Bassett willingly shares his best practices about American manufacturing. He supports many community organizations and created the Vaughan-Bassett Free Clinic, which provides free medical care for all employees and their families.

Franklin, chairman and CEO of manufacturer Franklin Corp., launched a small, family-owned business in 1970, which now supplies American-made upholstered motion furniture worldwide and has sustained double-digit growth nearly every year. It has more than 1,300 employees and a 75-acre campus in Mississippi. Franklin has received the AHFA Distinguished Service Award, the Upholstered Furniture Action Council Industry Service Award and was elected to the Mississippi Business Hall of Fame. He has served on a number of business and civic boards and established a $1 million endowment at Mississippi State University for the Franklin Furniture Institute, a research and training center benefitting the furniture industry.

Rosenberg is a founder of Top 100 store Bob's Discount Furniture, based in Manchester, Conn., and Planned Furniture Promotions, and a partner in the revival of Boyles furniture. In 1962, he co-founded Gene Rosenberg Associates (GRA), now called Planned Furniture Promotions, which has assisted over 6,000 retailers with high impact sales that have enabled retailers to survive, reorganize or close without extensive debt. In 1991, he co-founded Bob's Discount Furniture. Dedicated to assisting those in need, he founded Camp Rising Sun for children stricken with cancer and the Bob's Discount Furniture Foundation, which benefits dozens of children's charities and other charitable groups.

Platinum level Hall of Fame sponsors are AICO/Amini Innovations, Ashley Furniture Inds., La-Z-Boy and Zenith Global Logistics.

Gold sponsors include Art Van Furniture, Berkshire Hathaway Furniture Cos., Casana Furniture, FEI Marketing, HSM, Leggett & Platt, Palliser Furniture Ltd., Sealy, United Furniture Inds./Simmons Upholstery and Vaughan-Bassett Furniture.

Silver sponsors are American Leather, A.R.T. Furniture, Bob's Discount Furniture, Castro Convertibles, Culp Inc., El Dorado Furniture, Flexsteel Inds., Homelegance, Klaussner Furniture Inds., Planned Furniture Promotions, Raymour & Flanigan Furniture, Simmons Bedding Co., Haverty Furniture Cos. and Stein World.

Copper sponsors are Carpenter Co., CR Laine Furniture Co., Furniture World, Grand Home Furnishings, International Market Centers, Kittle's Home Furnishings Center, Rooms To Go, L. & J.G. Stickley, Samson Holding, Schnadig International, Steinreich Communications, Therapedic International, Watkins and Shepard Trucking and Wolf Furniture/Allegheny Furniture Consignment.


Featured Video

  • Joe Wade Talks About Recovery in the Furniture Sector

    Camera Icon More Videos

Other Home Furnishings Sites

Casual Living
Gifts and Decorative Accessories
Home Accents Today
Kids Today
Home & Textiles Today